Easter Weekend

Let’s back track, Easter weekend is always big (literally) as for the most part everyone has four days off, so it’s the best time for having little get togethers. Not to mention if you’re lucky you might get some good weather too!

I actually had a pretty food-centric one so it’s great to be able to share (even if it is most definitely not my normal eating habits).

Good Friday. My mum has always told me that at Easter, we eat fish on Fridays so naturally I took this food tradition to heart.

Good Friday BreakfastMy day started with smoked mackerel and a poached egg, and I loved it!

(That’s a solitary pancake and some spinach hiding under there by the way).
Lunch was also fish, and I had guests, so I decided to have something I wouldn’t eat usually from week to week. I actually love Salmon-en-Croute but the guilt factor of the pastry and fatty fish (I know it’s all good) weighs heavily on me, literally.

Salmon-abouttbe-En-CrouteI totally took a picture when it was cooked too (but it was a little on the toasted side).

This was dished up with some finely sliced potatoes and fennel, roasted in the oven, asparagus and what I believe to be called Chantenay Carrots – the little fats ones to most of us.

We wrapped up dinner with a marbled chocolate cake topped with the obligatory mini-eggs.

Saturday. We went to Sheffield on Saturday to visit my boyfriend’s sister, we had a cute little afternoon tea, minus any sandwiches as my boyfriend has a complete no-no policy on bread for himself. On her menu were little vegetarian sausages, cheese and roasted cherry tomatoes on oat biscuits, a killer bulgar wheat salad (which I ripped-off and have since added to my repertoire) with pomegranate seeds, browned onions and feta cheese. The sweet side was made up of dark chocolate ‘nests’ and lemon-y butterfly cakes which were also awesome – in general her cakes are if we’re being honest. Copious amounts of tea and a stop off at a little Italian coffee shop/deli for a pretty great coffee and we were then off to my parents for Day Three of the long weekend.

Somer's Bulgar Wheat Salad

(This is my duplication of said salad afterwards – I forgot to mention the walnuts which were an integral part!)

Easter Sunday. My Dad will use any excuse to barbecue, so it was certainly no surprise that we had a rather large one that weekend. I was tasked with making the dessert. Now desserts are not usually my forté, my explanation being that I have less chance to practise as I would be obliged to eat the whole thing. But I decided that I was feeling confident and opted to go for something previously unattempted, and uneaten by myself.

Key Lime Pie was my choice, I am a great lover of the zesty and zingy and hell, if you can’t follow a barbecue with something like that, what can you?

Key Lime PieThe Raw Material - Key Lime Pie

I can happily say I think I pulled it off – I was pretty amazed that even my brother managed an (albeit slightly back-handed) compliment, so I will take it as a victory. It was insanely simple and I definitely liked eating it, so it was a brilliant way for me to top off my packed weekend before the guilt got to me, and I decided to behave on Monday.

2 thoughts on “Easter Weekend

Leave a Reply

